Your Place

Friday 6:52 P.M.

It’s finally Spring Break! My dad and I are traveling to Miami, Florida over the break and I needed to fit in my blog post into my trip. So, on Friday I went to a family favorite restaurant located on Milpas St. called “Your Place”.

Your Place is a small Thai restaurant located on Milpas across the street from McDonalds. They have a small parking lot on the side of the restaurant that will always have a parking spot. Once we walk in, we waited to be seated by a waitress. Since I’ve eaten there many times before I knew exactly what I wanted, as did my family. We ordered the Tom Ka soup for all of us to share. I ordered orange chicken for myself, while my and mom ordered Pad Thai, and my dad ordered an Eggplant Basil dish. I also ordered Thai iced tea, which is one of my favorite drinks. The interior of the restaurant is amazing. So many things to look at. There are two huge fish tanks in the middle of the restaurant as well as many traditional umbrellas hanging from the ceiling. Also so many small things that you notice that just make the restaurant that much more unique. The highlight of that night was telling jokes during the wait for our food. The best one that was told was “I used to be a banker, but then I lost interest.” Yea… pretty cheesy, but hilarious. My parents cracked up, and could not stop laughing. Another one that was told was “Why don’t you ever see hippopotamus hiding in trees? Because they’re really good at it.” Yea. Silly, but hysterical. Anyway, the Tom Ka sour arrived first to our table. It had to be the best tasting soup I have ever had. It’s pretty much a coconut milk soup with chicken, mushroom, cilantro, scallions, etc. It’s best when you add rice to the soup as well, makes it twice as good. After we’ve enjoyed our soup, the main course is served. I had my orange chicken, while my parents had their Eggplant Basil Dish, and Pad Thai. The orange chicken certainly isn’t your normal orange chicken thats fried and drizzled with some orange sauce. The sauce is very special because I have never tasted a sauce quite like it, and it’s more gummy than most sauces. The atmosphere isn’t the best though. It can get a bit hot in the room and it doesn’t seem to be air conditioned which is certainly a downside.

 

 

Make sure to enjoy a delicious Thai dinner at Your Place on Milpas. You will not regret it.

Food: 5/5

Atmosphere: 3/5

Service: 5/5

 

Leave a Reply

